Missouri law requires all motor vehicles to pass a vehicle safety inspection each year. The certificate of inspection and approval is valid for 90 days from the date of Missouri state inspection and must be presented at the time of application for title or registration (unless exempt).
Missouri state inspections begin when you receive a notification via mail from the Department of Revenue. The letter will inform owners on whether or not a safety inspection certificate is required at the time of renewal.
If you are one of the lucky ones, an inspection can only take place at a state-authorized licensed station. Lucky for you, U.S. Automotive is one of those stations! However, there are approximately 3,500 stations available to drivers across the state, many of them car dealerships. If you’re not sure about whether or not your local MO auto repair shop is licensed, look for the large yellow sign with black lettering.
Effective as of this past August, motor vehicles for the first ten years following manufacture, and under 150,000 odometer miles are exempt from the safety inspection requirement.
Vehicles with a gross motor weight of 26,000 pounds or more, and registered for less than 12 months, are also exempt from the safety inspection. The primary occurrence of this situation is when an applicant registers their vehicles every quarter.
For a complete list of current exemptions, visit the MO Department of Motor Vehicles online.
In addition to safety inspection, an emissions inspection is also required if the vehicle is registered in the following areas:
Like the safety inspection, the Department of Revenue will inform you via letter if your vehicle is required to undergo an emissions inspection. This process must be completed no more than 60 days before applying for a title or registration renewal.
Whether commercial, fleet, or your everyday vehicle, the team at U.S. Automotive is here to assist with all of your Missouri state inspections. Contact us today to schedule your inspection (417) 581-7001.